Further reading about election, I found out that around 200 trillion IDR from the national budget would be used for 33 Governors and 473 Mayors and Regents Election.
That is an astronomical amount of money by any standard! We can build a lot of schools and hospitals in the entire archipelago for that bewitching sum.
Moreover, the number merely represents the formal cost of election. We can be sure there’s a lot more invisible outlay during the campaign process.
One easy example is; for any candidate to step forward, he or she would have to pocket endorsement from the local parliament and party. These are not free. One article mentions that the going rate is around 75 million IDR per endorsement. That means the candidate would have to provide capital in the range of 1 to 3 billion IDR.
There is no guarantee that after spending that money they would end up victorious. Consequently, they would do 'anything' to maximize their chance of winning.
It’s obvious that as soon as they win, first thing they would do is to make sure the capital they’ve spent will return some handsome profit. That’s not a good news for their constituent.
Usually people who benefit from this scheme are their inner circle. Now that’s why there are plenty of middlemen circling around government projects. Like any good vulture they are.
During our process to learn democracy, we also harbor potential conflict. Any sort of differences will be nurtured and escalated into a weapon for the candidates to win these gullible people’s support.
Almost no parties are able to lose gracefully. Maluku, West Java, and South Sulawesi are some of the cases proving this.
More often than not, the candidates are a collection of sleazy politicians and dodgy religious characters. Hence, for us it feels a lot like choosing the lesser evil.
I wonder what happens in other country. Is there any true democracy around?
From my understanding of American brand of democracy, their policies mostly influenced by lobbyists and wealthy industrialists (weapons and oil). People who back up the politicians financially in the first place.
The difference is most of its citizens are educated enough not too fight in the street during a campaign.
I understand that democracy in Indonesia is only young. I’m not suggesting that we should scrap the system altogether. However, any discourse about an alternative civil society in the end would prove whether democracy is the one and only proper way of nationhood.
After doing some research, we can divide the alternatives into two categories:
Anarchism; this includes Anarchist-communism, Anarcho-capitalism, Anarcho-primitivism, Libertarian socialism, etc.
Authoritarianism; are Autocracy, Aristocracy, Communist state, Corporatism, Despotism, Dictatorship, Monarchy, Theocracy, etc.
None of the above sounds too promising.
How about Pancasila’s type of Democracy, is there such a thing? This is the task for our bureaucrats and technocrats to ponder. When they have finished pondering, I’d hope they enlighten us little people. As, in my observation, very few of us live by the way of Pancasila these days.
Maybe democracy is indeed expensive and we all have to pay for it, at least for now.
In the mean time, we can always muse and blog.
Jadi puyeng, sebenarnya kita cocok yang mana...kalau demokrasi macam Amerika gitu, kita rasanya belum siap
ReplyDeleteIya Cak ... sama aja kok di Amerika kayaknya. Politikus di back up sama para pengusaha minyak dan senjata, ujung-ujung nya kebijakan yang yang mereka hasilkan menguntungkan kalangan kaya juga. Bukan rakyat kebanyakan.
ReplyDeleteCuman mungkin karena tingkat pendidikan politik di sana sudah cukup mateng, plus pelaksanaan hukum nya jalan, gak banyak konflik pas berbeda pendapat dan beda pilihan. Apalagi kalo sampe tawuran.
Ini yang Indonesia masih perlu pelajari. Menerima kekalahan dengan legowo, dan bisa menerima perbedaan pendapat.
setuju banget sama yang ini..
ReplyDeleteorang Indonesia itu susah menerima keberagaman, pinter agama baru2 aja, berasa dah paling takwa sedunia, orang harus seperti dia..ya susah..la wong negara Indonesia berdiri dengan perjanjian : Bhineka Tunggal Ika, krn sangat kaya dalam budaya, adat istiadat dan bahasa.
kayanya jaman 45 itu smua orang Indonesia bisa menerima keberagaman, tapi sekarang, dah makin banyak yg pintar2 malah jadi pecah belah..soalnya ego-nya ketinggian, dan ya itu tadi, sikap legowo yang kurang..
Iya, bahkan beberapa tokoh yang selama ini saya anggap sudah dewasa dalam berpolitik pun masih suka manyun dan pundung kalo kalah dalam pemilihan. Soalnya mereka dah ngeluarin uang banyak kali ya. Pasti merasa rugi hehehe ...
ReplyDeleteYup, paling bete kalo dah ngeliat tokoh baik yang beragama maupun yang sekuler merasa lebih bener sendiri ...
Makasih dah mampir By :) ... ditunggu laporan pandangan mata konser Bon Jovi nya hehe ...
heheh.iya, mikir ga balik modal :)) malu2in yah...kalah ya kalah, tapi harus tetep punya harga diri dong..
ReplyDeletedemokrasi Indonesia dah kebablasan...yang rugi rakyat kecil, padahal Indonesia kaya, tapi pada nguap kemana tuh kekayaannya ?
Indonesiaku..Indonesiaku..tp aku tetap cinta kok^_^
thank you Heru, dah nampung cuap2 ga jelasku..hihih..
Iya By :) bete ama pejabat2nya tapi kita tetap cinta negerinya kan ...
ReplyDeleteYou're always welcome By ... makin banyak makin ok hehe ....