Monday, January 17, 2005

The One With The Memorable Quotes


We know them all too well. We’ve been watching them together for more than eleven years. They define the ‘must’ in “must see TV”. Indeed, we’re talking about the gang of six, Monica, Rachel, Phoebe, Ross, Joey, and Chandler. Yeah, Friends, for ten years, their life’s, love’s, and wacky antics have provided the water cooler buzz on each morning we had our coffee break or in between dinner talks. From Fun Bobby, The Ugly Naked Guy, to Joy’s big break as Al Pacino’s stunt butt, we’ve enjoyed the ride all played to the haunting refrain of Phoebe’s quirky tune ‘Smelly Cat’.

All the stars in the show has brought to life the character we get to know and love. But ten years is a long time and a lot has changed including our favourite ‘Friends’. Now that it’s already ended, it seems something has been missing. Gone are the days of curiousity of whether Ross and Rachel will be together again or whether Chandler will stuck between a rock and a hard place once more.

The show has moved beyond success to cultural icon status. And with final episodes already aired for almost a year ago, The Gen X fans who has turned from 20 something to 30 something along with the cast, still find a way to rejoice some of the re-runs from their own vcd or dvd collections.

From the get go, the show has grabbed attention from fans to critics and ultimately has been one of the phenomenon of the nineties. Can you remember when Chandler said, “You have to stop the Q-Tip when there's resistance.” Or when Rachel scream, “Hey, just so you know: it's *NOT* that common, it *DOESN’T* ‘happen to every guy,’ and it *IS* a big deal.” And Joey’s stupid remark, “It's a rented tux. Okay? I'm not gonna go commando in another man's fatigues.”

I think everybody saw a little bit of themselves in each one of the six character. It also represents all the different sides of who you might be, or even the various different type of people that you know of. I would look at my friends and said, ‘Oh my god, that is so Ross’ or a friend of mine who always compared herself with Monica’s type of neurotic.

One of the show’s most remarkable accomplishment is that for the whole decade, it was always funny. Everyone still have their own most favourite moment. That look or line that can still make you laugh out loud. Well for me, I would have to say my most favourite scene was when Joey and Chandler had an argument and Joey end up wearing all Chandlers clothes and do some lunging. Man, that is some funny stuff.

Friends may not literally the most seen or the ultimate best in TV show but surely it has some special place in the niche of the people my age. It’s not exactly profound or even breakthrough these whole series, but whenever I felt a little been under the weather or almost jaded, I just reach on to the cupboard and there they are ready to pick me up and make me laugh. I think Joey said it best when him and Chandler are about to split from the apartment. “It’s the end of an era”.

22 comments:

  1. Yeap...true indeed..... Sex and city is down, but we still have the sopranos....

    Pokoknya hiburan bagus tetap akan ada dan hidup !! hehehehehe..

    ReplyDelete
  2. Iya sih, ada banyak yang baru2 muncul kayak 24, atau Six Feet Under, cuman tetep bagi aku belum ada yang menggantikan tempatnya Friends. Kocak abis ... semalam baru re run beberapa episodenya lagi.

    ReplyDelete
  3. nah itu dia yang gw jelasin ke Fer...not the movie into you !!

    But you into the movie...

    artinya nikmatin ajah dulu filem-nya...entar juga lama2 masup juga...
    ada yang momen2 yang masuk yang jadi remark di dalam kita-nya...
    baru deh berasa kalo film itu bener2 enak...

    toh waktu friends awal2 nongol juga yah kaya' nonton film seri yang laen ajah (bukan berarti gw gak suka FRIENDS yah, gw suka banget apalagi kalo bagian Joey ama Phoebe udah ngomong terus pas episode2 ketika phoebe masi suka maen gitar di Central Perk)

    Sekarang si yang ngetop malah bukan six feet under....tapi justru ALIAS....24 juga si, tapi hampir samalah rate-nya dengan CSI....

    Tapi yah balik ke personal preference sihh...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Well to each their own... imho. Beberapa orang emang standard nya kan beda, kalo bagi dia mungkin film2 tertentu nggak asik untuk dinikmatin, wajar aja kali ya. Abis emang banyak juga menurut aku film2 yang emang asal buat dan atau emang bukan selera kita. Nggak harus semuanya kita sukai toh :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. exactly! so kalo emang menurut gw biasa2 aja gak usah maksa pls... ^o^

    ReplyDelete
  6. Alias and CSI is okay :) ... Laramie Projects and Carnivale are both deep and original. The Mind of a Married Man ... hillarious! Still waiting to see the glimpse of Mike Nichols' Angels in America. Menangin banyak aklamasi dan pemeran-pemerannya cukup menjanjikan kayaknya.

    ReplyDelete
  7. i like the original CSI.... ^.^
    do you get Scrubs there? that's a pretty funny show too...

    ReplyDelete
  8. Nope, never seen Scrubs before. CSI Miami is not too shabby tho' ... but i agree with you the original CSI is somewhat better.

    If you have to choose, which of the Friends character you'll fit into the most ? and which do you like the most ? For me it's probably Chandler but less of that goofy persona and quick wit and surely not as funny as him :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. Nah itu dia maksudnya....

    but sumtime we just go with the flow....

    kadang lebih mudah terbang mengikuti arah angin atau berenang mengikuti arus ....

    ReplyDelete
  10. Kalo gw si menilai sebenarnya joey itu orang pinter cuman kadang nyaru jadi orang bego ajah !!! hihihihihihiihi

    ReplyDelete
  11. i go with the flow too... but cant i have an opinion about the flow?
    *lagi2 di bahas* :'-P

    ReplyDelete
  12. Do we need to resist for our persistence out of loud ?

    ReplyDelete
  13. as if you havent already in so many words, in so many journals' thread? ^.^

    ReplyDelete
  14. Well in that case I will choose Neo then, hehehe, altho' hopefully not to share the same fate dying in the crucifix to safe the entire human race, hm ... on second thought that is kinda cool, innit?.

    or William Wallace: "Freeeeedommmmm!!!"... oops he also died in the crucifix according to Braveheart.

    ReplyDelete
  15. eh? now we're talking about anyone in any movies in general then?
    in that case, i wanna be legolas... hehehehe..... ^o^

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'm confused ... you wanna be ? or you wanna be with Legolas ?

    ***huaaa cari gara gara nih aku :D***

    ReplyDelete
  17. kok reply-an gw ilang sih ??

    huaaaa...

    ReplyDelete
  18. i dont mind being him.. he's so pretty... *LOL* :oD

    ReplyDelete
  19. Kok kaya'nya nggak ada yang ilang ya Blie ... coba di cari2 lagi hehehe ... siapa tau nyasar ke jurnal lain.

    ReplyDelete
  20. i just love rachel.. funny and witty... inget jadul, ngantri di salon buat potramb a la rachel... whuee

    ReplyDelete
  21. everybody loves friends... it's a phenomenon.. i luv rachel.. that gal dot style and witty too.. jadi inget dulu ngantri salon buat potramb a la jenifer aniston.. whuehehe

    ReplyDelete
  22. Funny of all the character, Rachel is the least of my fave :D ...
    Oya dulu pernah kena demam rachel's cut juga? hehehe, sempet heboh banget sih dulu ya apalagi yang season 2, hair do-nya pada keren-keren gitu.

    ReplyDelete